sleep eluding me

I hate having to set my alarm. I hate waking up in a jolt because I’m hearing a loud jingle on my phone. And, subconsciously, I hate alarms so much that every time I set one, I wake up anywhere between 30 minutes to 2 hours before it goes off.

Just like this morning. So here’s the situation: I have to be outside by 9 to meet my taxi. The taxi guy is giving me a free ride but this is the only time he can take me on Sunday mornings because he has church. That means I’ll be up at work as much as an hour and a half before it’s actually time for me to clock in.

So I set my alarm for 8.20, which gives me enough time to get up, shower, prepare lunch and be out the door.

Naturally, when do I wake up? 6.18 (it’s amazing almost how precise I wake up). I force myself back to sleep, have a weird dream about the former host of Big Brother UK, Davina McCall, befriending me down here in the States, then wake back up at about 7.45.

If I hadn’t set the alarm, I would have overslept and missed my free ride in. It’s a trade-off for sure, but such is my situation.

It’s supposed to get stormy by the time work ends tonight, which I’m looking forward to. Should mean the customer traffic slopes off rather quickly, which should mean an easier time finishing up.

Leave a Reply

