announcing plans = hubris

I really should learn to shut up.

I am a fairly pessimistic person thanks to personal experience involving making firm plans about the things I want to do.

Here’s what happens: I say I am going to do something at a certain time. I get myself heavily excited–jazzed, shall we say, and then by the time I should start doing what I set out to do it, something happens that screws up the plans and leaves me unable to do it.

So, if you’ll recall, on my last post I said I was going to start outlining Bloodbound 3. Not even a half hour after I made that plan public knowledge via blog, what happens?

My laptop’s AC adapter quits on me. Seriously, almost exactly 30 minutes after I hit ‘enter’ on that blog post, my laptop screen dims by about fifty percent, the way it does when I unplug it from the power and let it run on battery. But the plug was still in. I rotate, I turn, I do everything but make love to the AC jack with the adapter plug, and nothing. It’s kaput.

So, I’ve ordered a replacement off Amazon, and thanks be to Prime one-day shipping, I should have it early tomorrow. Until then, I’m on my roommate’s backup laptop. It’s slow and not nearly as powerful, so I can do basic stuff like tweet, blog, email, and do my college assignments.

But it proves to me once again that I should never tell anybody what I plan to do until it’s already started and I’m in the process. Announcing what I intend to do just gives the Fates ample time to do everything in their power to prevent it. That’s what scares me the most about my impending move to be with Tyler at the end of September. That’s four months of waiting, and any number of things could (and already have) gone wrong in the planning process.

I don’t know, maybe I should just never talk about plans, and keep every thought a wishful thought locked away in my head, and then just report on what I do manage to do…

Leave a Reply

