our little game

This week has been a little busy for me, which has been unusual as of late. I’m about to have my first bona fide television writing credit.

My pal Josh is hosting and executive-producing a game show in his hometown of Beaumont, Texas. Family Knows Best is a quiz show for, as the title will cleverly suggest, the whole family. Taking its cues from Double Dare and Trivial Pursuit, FKB will have a ten-episode run on Beaumont’s Fox station, KBTV 4.

I have been tasked with writing all the questions across four rounds of gameplay. All told I will have written over 300 questions and/or responses by the time taping starts later this month. So in the last week I have written all ten episodes worth of questions, and I still need to develop some backups (be prepared!) and some follow-ups based on the physical stunts the teams will be competing in at the start of each show. It’s been an exciting gig, despite being complicated at times, but I soldiered on, and I can’t wait to see the fruits of everyone’s labor.

This isn’t the first time I’ve worked for Josh. I’ve written some freelance articles for his pop culture site C’mon Fwank and I developed the backdrop for his alma mater Lamar University’s LUTV student TV station.

Meanwhile, some exciting news on the career front. Last week a local station put up an ad for a new position, basically encapsulating cameraman, teleprompter operation, sound and video graphics hardware operation, and website updating. It was posted on a Tuesday, I replied that night, and Wednesday morning I had a call asking to schedule an interview.

That interview will be this coming Wednesday morning. To prepare for it, I got a nice new pair of pants, have a nice shirt picked out, and I’ve been nervous all week long. Never fear, it’s just the game I play. It’s much the same technique I had in high school theater class. I’d spend all the time before showtime being nervous and fretful, then when time came to go out onstage, not a nerve to be found. Same deal here: I will be ready to wow and impress Wednesday morning.

Leave a Reply

